Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

A great increase in the total number of cars owned over the last three decades creates a severe problem connected to traffic. While some cities become unreachable for cars, others try resolving the issue by introducing modern urban solutions.

In my opinion, the statement mirrors the reality, but the growth is natural: everybody wants to access every facility of the city easily in their own vehicles, without worrying about public transport complications like schedule or badly planned routes. Large cities are facing the faster increase: more people arriving results in more cars being used. This could eventually become a problem, if the governments do not take any actions in order to ease the people’s transfer.

I consider the solutions to the problem could be different, but the ones that are the most efficient from my perpective, should involve the modernization of public transport. Making it more convenient, by building subways or separate tracks for the trams, introducing new routes to the newly-build districts and lowering the fee could help decreasing the amount of people wishing to use their own transport. Other ways could include promoting bikes, by creating infrastructure and cycling lanes, but this could not be feasible in many cities, due to factors like weather or just the scale of the city. Lastly, I don’t think prohibiting measures, like increasing parking fee or banning some types of cars could help in this situation – it’s better to create opportunities to choose from rather than simply restricting.

To conclude, I think the actual cars ownership state is a big problem for the cities and in my point of view, the local government could fix the situation by introducing new ways of moving around the city with modern transport. Simply preventing people from the usage of their cars could not be that helpful.