Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

During the last thirty years, several cities around the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’ due to their increasing number of car ownership. In my view, this perspective is supported by compelling arguments, and I strongly agree with the statement proposed, as in the past, governments and car companies have exploited their short-term benefits as much as possible, even if it has led to bad consequences.

On the one hand, the excessive presence of cars has brought many difficulties within cities. Besides the increasing traffic time, there are other problems related to this situation, such as pollution and the overall growth of incidents. As a result, institutions and cities are now working together trying to find the right methods to discourage this increasing phenomenon.

However, I firmly believe that there are many ways to stop and erase these issues, especially adopting green policies. For example, more and more cities are developing efficient public transports as a way to fight the traffic. Moreover, there are many other ways to limit traffic timing, especially through benefits and sanctions. Indeed, governments should give benefits to people for using public transports, and apply sanctions when people use their cars in restricted zone. Ultimately, I believe that institutions should make people more concerned to these issues, as there is no change without their support.

In conclusion, I think that car ownership is a phenomenon that should be limited, as it has brought many disadvantages and negative effects on people. Instead, new modern policies, benefits and sanctions would benefit on society, making it more dynamic and secure.