Child labour is considered to be one of the most serious problems on the planet. What are the reasons why children find themselves in child labour and can be done to tackle this issue?

In this modern world, child labor is widely regarded as one of the most serious problems. It goes without saying that there are some potential reasons for this situation. In this essay, I will discuss its causes as well as give some possible solutions to address this issue, supported by relevant examples.

One major factor behind this trend is poverty. Families with low incomes often struggle to meet their basic needs, which forces children to contribute financially from a young age. Research conducted by students from the University of New Delhi revealed that nearly 25% of kids between 10 and 17 years old in India work in factories, farms, or restaurants to support their families, sacrificing their education in the process.

When it comes to its solutions, first of all, the government should prioritize affordable and accessible education for all children. When schooling is free and compulsory, parents are less likely to send their children to work. Data from The Guardian news in 2024 showed that nearly 87% of children who are working underage of 17 said that they preferred to study and socialize with their peers rather than doing physically demanding jobs, but they have no option since they cannot afford the cost of education. In addition, financial assistance should be provided for underprivileged groups. Finally, stricter laws and heavier penalties for employers who hire underage workers would help reduce the number of child labour.

In light of the points mentioned above, underage labor is an effect of poverty, and to solve this problem, the government could decrease the cost of education, provide subsidies, and make strict regulations.