Childhood obesity is becoming a problem throughout the developed world. Because of this, some people think that adverts for fast food, sweets and sugary snacks should not be allowed in schools and colleges. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this contemporary world, there is a dilemma of more individuals becoming overweight at young ages. Many hold that advertisements for junk food, sweets and sugary snacks are the main culprits for this phenomenon and they should be banned in school and college environments. I advocate this statement for some reasons explained in the following essay.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that by forbidding processed food commercials, the authorities can alleviate the amount of convenience food teenagers consume. In reality, learners are exposed to numerous food adverts, which contain appealing food illustrations; as a result, they are evoked by a sense of curiosity and hunger, which motivates them to have one. Besides, these foods usually contain a large amount of fat and sugar considered the key rationales behind many physical problems in humankind such as diabetes, leading to a rapid increase in the number of citizens having obesity or health problems. So by restricting fast food adverts, governments can reduce children’s exposure to this kind of food and stimulate pupils to consume more green foods, resulting in a healthier body condition.

On the other hand, there are multiple issues associated with this restriction. First, banning this type of commercial may lead to an increase in the unemployment rate. Since processed food is phenomenal in the community, creating numerous job opportunities for humans, banning this industry may make thousands of people lose their jobs. Consequently, not only does it affect detrimentally individuals’ living conditions, but also the national economy. Furthermore, many individuals nowadays depend on this type of food since they have rough schedules and do not have enough time to prepare meals so fast food is a great choice for them to save time. By forbidding fast food adverts, the government not only hinders the development of this industry, but also causes adverse impact on workers.

To recapitulate, banning junk food advertisements entails both pros and cons, and since there are several potential positive effects on both individual and national levels, I would consider it as an advantageous influence.