Children can benefit from spending more time with their grandparents. Do you agree?

The ‘traditional’ family is considered to be the nuclear family with the parents and the children living in a single household. However, that is not the only type of family. There are many people who spend time with their extended family such as their grandparents. I think there are benefits for children and their grandparents to spend more time with each other.

Firstly, even if one of the parents stays at home and looks after their kids, they still need some time to themselves. Some parents hire babysitters to do the job. In my opinion, letting the grandparents babysit would be good for the children as they get to experience their extended family’s love. The grandparents also get to feel like they are involved in the family. The children get to know what their grandparents were like and bond with them.

Another reason is that children get to know about their family history and cultural heritage. This reason might be more significant with immigrant families. These kids can usually feel disconnected from their culture. By spending more time with their grandparents, they get to know about their cultural heritage. They can also learn from the many experiences that their grandparents had.

In conclusion, I think that it is advantageous for grandparents and children to spend more time with each other because they get to bond, the grandparents may feel like they are more involved in the family, the children can learn about their cultural heritage, family traditions and history and more.