Children should learn a foreign language at an early age. What do you think about this statement?

In the current technologically advanced world, becoming a bilingual person seems to be an essential matter for many young people. There has been ongoing debate regarding whether or not parents should encourage their child to study an extra language besides their official language as soon as they become a schoolchild. By doing so, there are more benefits than detrimental outcomes, the reasons for which will be elaborated on in this essay.

Some opponents of this might claim that acquiring a second language while children are still studying their mother tongue is not an effective approach. This is possibly because young citizens tend to face with the confusion regarding vocabulary’s and grammatical norms, resulting in the slower improvement for communicating in both languages comparing to others at the same age. However, I would personally argue that despite these difficulties, the positive outcomes are the priority to be emphasized. The primarily reason is that as soon as children begin their schooling, their brain is required to consistently use in order to remember new vocabulary and understand gramma structure. As a result, this can lead to enhanced and improved cognitive skills, which are essential for everyday tasks, critical thinking and problems-solving as well as social interaction abilities.

Furthermore, by learning a foreign language at an early age, the young residents could open doors for personal growth and future opportunities. This is because becoming bilingual, they can greatly expand their chance of entering to international education and later allow them to participate in the global networking. Another reason is that many global companies are prefer candidates who can communicate in multiple languages, hence speaking in a variety tongues can be one of the tools to promote the future career. For instance, my former colleague from Cambodia, who started an English learning experience at the primary school, was able to pursue both bachelor’s and master’s degree from overseas. From this action, she could work with an international organization where she has performed role as a manager.

In conclusion, although there are a few drawbacks of learning a foreign language at soon as children becoming school students, its encouraging outcomes such as improved cognitive skills, opened door for personal growth and increased future opportunities are the primary factors that parents should be considered.