Children's education is expensive. In some countries, the government pays some or all of the costs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that nowadays children’s education is higher than before. In some countries, authorities covers all of the fees for children’s education. I strongly believe that the advantages of this trend outweigh disadvantages because of the equal access of education opportunities, reduce financial burden, and improve economic development it offers.

To begin with, one of the major advantages is all children will get access to education and equal opportunities. Due to lack of financial stability, many students do not get the chance to study and get benefit from the advance learning system. Government subsidies may help parents to reduce financial burden and help student to continue their study. In Bangladesh, for instance, in rural areas many pupils can get the opportunities for study due to government involvement in educational sector. In addition, educated society may help to remove superstition from the culture and give a new paradigm to think about life. If literacy rate is increases, country may rise in economic, technological and infrastructure development.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to consider. Parents may have reduce responsibility towards children as they do not have the burden to give large amount of money for their children. For example, in countryside, although there are free education opportunities but parents do not try to monitor their children. As a result, children may get excessive freedom of choice and its impact on their study. Children may not realise the value of money, as it is from government. Moreover, financial burden on government, as every students will get free education.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks to consider, I firmly believe that the advantages outweigh disadvantages as pupils are get countless opportunities.