Choose a natural disaster (like a hurricane, earthquake, flood, or etc.) that you have learned about. Describe what causes this type of disaster and how it affects people. Then, explain some ways people can prepare for this disaster to stay safe.You should write about 200 words.

These days, the growth of human civilization also leads to the rise of natural disasters. There are a lot of natural disasters, but in my opinion, earthquakes are the most dangerous and powerful disaster.

Our Earth is made of seven main tectonic plates. Each tectonic plate has its own movement; when one tectonic plate collapses with the other, it causes an earthquake. Earthquakes can lead to other natural diseases like tsunamis and volcanic eruptions, which deal damage to buildings, bridges, and highways and have negative impacts on people’s living conditions.

To prepare for an earthquake, people can start with the little things. First of all, people should enhance their house by securing all the furniture and storing emergency supplies like food, water, and medical items. Besides, keep in mind that earthquakes will come anytime, especially when you are living in Japan or California. So always be ready and create an evacuation plan for yourself and your family. Remember to practice that plan to help you face the earthquakes more easily and increase your survival chances.

In conclusion, earthquakes are a kind of dangerous natural disaster caused by tectonic plates’ collapse. People should have good preparation by securing their house, practicing evacuation plans, and storing food, water, and important medical supplies.