cities should prioritise parks rather than housing developments. to what extent do you agree?

With the increase in population in urban areas, there has been demand for investments to be channeled towards housing, however some people are of the opinion that green spaces should be invested on instead of housing. Although , Housing and public gardens serve different uses, which are beneficial to inhabitants, I strongly support prioritizing public parks for a score of reasons.

Firstly, public parks serve as a fresh breath for rendezvous. It is a common practice for friends, staff to meet and unwind at fancy restaurants or clubs, which are always noisy. However green spaces, provides an alternative for meeting points for people to relax and appreciate nature. For example, while I was a student, we usually host an end of the year get together, which was an avenue for us to discuss how the year treated each and everyone of us. And our choice location was the parks, because of its serenity and ambience. in addition, public parks generates revenue from local users, as well as from tourists who visit monumental parks.

With the effects of climate change caused by pollution from factories and cars, as well as deforestation in order to build houses, it’s important to invest in green spaces to be able to mitigate the harsh complications of green gases. In other words public parks prevents congestion of the cities with buildings and its plants releases oxygen which regulates the warm temperature of the urban areas.

In conclusion, it’s important to prioritize developing public parks, because its benefits are enormous, for preservation of the human race