Climate change is a phenomenon that affects countries all over the world. Many people strongly believe that it is the responsibility of individuals, rather than corporations and governments, to deal with this problem. Do you agree or disagree?

As climate change becomes a major problem worldwide, many believe that only individuals should find ways to tackle this phenomenon. I believe that cooperation between both governments and citizens is necessary and I will explain my reasons below

The central role should be played by the authorities as they possessthe power to legislate against damaging the environment. This is particularly effective in preventing the unethical practices of businesses, which contributes greatly to environmental pollution. Since individuals cannot solely influence change in production policies, stricter laws on byproducts dumping and waste treatment processes must be enacted along with severe punishment should violations occur. To illustrate, a chemical company in Viet Nam received a 100 million dollar fine when it was proven to have released a great amount of toxic gases into the atmosphere. This served as a warning to similar companies who soon changed their ways of operation.

Furthermore, the people themselves should also make an effort to ensure this problem is effectively dealt with. By complying with civil regulations, they can take on the duty of preventing any damage to their local environment. Additionally, the amount of emissions from private vehicles can be reduced with a shift to more environmentally friendly alternatives, such as commuting in public transport or carpooling. Public pressure can also be exerted/made on unethical businesses by ways of boycotting and criticism on social media.

All in all, the government has a greater responsibility for dealing with the causes of climate change. However, only when a combined effort from both them and the people is achieved should this problem be sufficiently solved.