Climate change is a phenomenon that affects countries all over the world. Many people strongly believe that it is the responsibility of individuals, rather than corporations and governments, to deal with this problem. Do you agree or disagree?

Today, one of the serious global problems is climate change, and there is an idea put forward by many people that this problem has to be solved by individuals, rather than governments. While I can agree that there are enough useful measures that can be taken by people, I strongly believe that it will be impossible to solve this problem without the participation of governments and corporations.

There are so many important activities that have to be done by individuals, such as using hybrid or electric cars rather than the ones working with fuel, contributing to recycling process, trying to use public transport, teaching children not to pollute environment, and so on. By this, I mean, we can get some improvements in terms of reduction of effects of climate change by fulfilling the aforementioned actions. Additionally, in order to raise awareness of more and more people about this activities, different events, flash mobs can be organized. For example, six months ago, more than 2000 students from my university came together and organized a flash mob on the Baku Boulevard in order to attract more and more people to contribute the measures taken against climate change.

On the flip side, despite the fact that there are many responsibilities of inhabitants to tackle the obvious problem, I do not agree that they can get significant results on this matter by themselves. I mean that since this problem is global, the only way of solving it is to bring all countries around the globe together and try to find solution in the level of governments. However, it does not mean that there are not any role of inhabitants. By contrast, all of us should gather around our government and do our best to fulfill its requirements. An excellent example may be COP 29 that will occur in Baku in November. The delegations of almost all countries will come to Baku and discuss what they can do to tackle this situation.

In conclusion, although we can do our best to mitigate the outcomes of climate change as individuals, for finding global solution, the participation of governments is important.