Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need. What are the positive and negative affects of consumerism?

It has been increasingly popular for companies to consume a sum of considerable money each year on many advertising platforms such as online advertisements, posters, and magazines as it would stimulate people’s habit of buying. While consumerism could encourage a boost in good and service demands, driving economic growth, its effect significantly caused plenty of drawbacks in the long term.

On the one hand, a strategy for motivating high consumers to buy unnecessary objects that many companies have adopted is seen as a potential way for economic advancement. Advertisements can inform clients about new products, services, and innovations and so on, therefore, both helping consumers make better choices when shopping and improving the revenue for companies. Moreover, by adopting an advertising strategy, companies can build their brand recognition and loyalty, spreading their influence in the marketplace. Apple perfectly exemplified this situation as their advertising campaign successfully kept such loyal consumers who intensely long to buy only their brand products from time to time.

On the other hand, such advertising activities that promote high levels of consumption, potentially pose a threat to environmental degradation. It is exhibited as the cost of purchasing wares that are not in demand for people in specific circumstances, as for such short-term trends or showing off with friends, thereafter, no longer used and proposing to throw it away, contributing to the environmental pollution. Furthermore, financial strain on each individual resulting from consumerism can have a large effect on the allocation of many other things such as health services, household amenities, and food, burdening one’s income and consumption choices. Not only that stress but also increased materialistic values, putting more pressure on consumers’ state of the economy.

In conclusion, while advertising campaigns that companies choose to apply witness many positive benefits from growing economy to promoting brand value, it is irrefutable that the drawbacks of this approach result in consequences on the environment and financially unstable in people’s income