Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need. What are the positive and negative affects of consumerism?

Impulse buying have seen to stem from the increasing number of online promotions since the enterprises spent a large sum of money on that field annually. In this essay, beneficial and detrimental impacts of consumerism will be discussed.

On the one hand, the phenomenon will result in economic growth and demands for innovation. Firstly, the more customers buy; the more the profits can companies gain, which contributes to the development of their revenues each year. Secondly, the growing need for products brings about the enforcement of novel applications to production line from businesses to launch competitive items. It is obvious that not only can companies themselves benefit from such advancements, the satisfactory rate of consumers is also able to be achieved owing to a variety of existing goods.

On the other hand, consumerism also poses threat to the environment and the growth of materialism. Obviously, if newly launched products are chased by human race; tremendous amounts of waste are disposed regularly, which results in serious degradation of environment. Not only is the environment itself adversely affected by the accumulation of disposals, humans’ health is detrimentally damaged over long time. Additionally, since the demand for merchandises is excessively increasing, then attitudes towards possessions can be changed. People might tend to value material factors more than the other valuable aspects such as empathy and humanity.

To conclude, development of commercials via the internet brings merits to both businesses and buyers, considering higher revenues and innovations. Nevertheless, is also poses demerits to the environment and individuals’ perception on material values.