Most people think that governments should invest money in improving the quality of life on Earth rather than exploring space. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is widely debated whether governments should invest more money in space exploration, while others believe that they should invest it in solving problems on Earth. I believe that governments should first consider what issues are more urgent before investing, because as far as I know, there are a lot of major global issues that need to be solved on Earth instead of spending money on space exploration. For example, world hunger and illiteracy, though it is not ignoring the needs of space exploration. Furthermore, the governments should invest more in urgent issues rather than in things that are not really necessary.

Firstly, world hunger still remains one of the major global issues that has not been solved for a long time. Many people from different places around the world are still struggling to eat. In addition, some of them live in countries that have enough food supply but yet still cannot provide food supplies for some regions in their country. There are children who have suffered from malnutrition around the world because of the corruption of governments in their countries, which causes parents to struggle to afford food supplies in order to provide nutrition for their children.

Secondly, the failure of education systems as one of the results that illiteracy still remains as one of the big global issues. The fact that there are a lot of adults who are still illiterate, even among teenagers, is very concerning – this is the result of governments failing to provide education to them. There are many rural regions around the world that still struggle to have access to education, even some of which cannot have a proper education system. They are struggling in different ways to get an education. For example, there are people who cannot receive an education because the school cannot provide teachers; the shortage of educators exists because many of them had to travel overseas to get a proper education. Also, it costs a lot, and many of them decide to stay there for their careers and do not return to their hometown.

In conclusion, this is why I believe that governments should focus on investing in global issues happening on Earth because they are more urgent than spending more money on space exploration, which seems not really necessary while many major issues have not been solved yet.