Some people believe that sports competitions are a source of emotional stress for young people. Therefore, youth should be banned from participating in sports competitions. Do you agree or disagree?

Many teenagers avoid participating in competitive sports because they fear failure. This has led some people to propose banning sports competitions. Personally, I disagree with this view for the reasons explained in this essay.

One major reason why young people are less interested in competitive sports is that such sports can foster a fear of failure among them. Many schools organise competitions to encourage their students to engage in sport activities. The main purpose of hosting these events is to improve children’s physical health, however, it also come with the pressure of having a good result in any competition that students participating in. This kind of pressure often comes from their parents and teachers because they want their children and students have to be better than their friends. Therefore, a sport competition is no longer can be seem as a playground in students’ eyes, it has become a serious arena where each competitor has to fight for places on the podium. Every loss can be considered as they are not good enough. For these reasons, competitive sports have become a fear of many teenagers. They may no longer want to take part in any sport competition to avoid intangible pressure from parents and teachers.

Even so, restricting these sports cannot simply be justified by their competitiveness. This is the aspect that cannot be replaced in any sport. Sport activities not only can help young people improve their health, but also build their mental toughness, which have beneficial impact on their lives in the long run. By being trained in competitive environment, they can learn to stay calm in any situation, thereby making appropriate decisions to address problems. For example, a teenager who regularly attend football matches at school know how to keep calm under the match’s pressure, therefore they can deliver accurate passes to teammates. For these reasons, the most effective approach would be to change adults’ thought about children’s sport games. Young people will have more motivation in playing such competitive sports without worrying about the result.

In conclusion, although many people have proposed that competitive sports should be restricted due to teenagers’ fear of failure, I disagree with this perspective because these sports can develop both physical health and mentality of them. Parents therefore should not place additional pressure on their children to build a suitable environment for their maturity.