Some people believe that sports competitions are a source of emotional stress for young people. Therefore, youth should be banned from participating in sports competitions. Do you agree or disagree?

To provide teenagers’ opportunities to shine, sport competitions has been organized annually and widely, allowing people to join in regardless of ages. However, some people argues that eventually, these annual events are the reason of young individuals’ emotional stress. This essay will argue why I believe that young athletes should not be banned to engage in sport competitions.

Many proponents of the prohibition of youth participation in sport events contend that the competitiveness and adults’ expectations may put youngsters under a lot of pressures. Many teen sport events are established to find potential candidates with great skills and effort, igniting hope in teenagers and attracting thousands of participants. However, awards and opportunities are limited, forcing millions to fight for a spot to success. The competitiveness eventually forces many young participants to restlessly practice, live under pressure daily and even exchange well-being for awards and compliments. These habits can be seen in children training for national competitions where many potential athletes were trained under stressful conditions consistently and were given strict diet to follow. Additionally, adults’ expectations on their own offsprings also pressed youngsters to put more effort to achieve certain goals. Some youngsters were forced to engage in activities against their own interests in order to satisfy their parents. Suffering stresses for too long, young individuals may face chronic stress, mental fatigue and eating disorders, detrimentally affect their daily lives and leave unsalvagable traumas. Nevertheless, these causes mainly come from the society than the competitions themselves where people will look at prizes and awards other than interests and efforts. By adjusting the mindset and pushing away the peer pressures to let young athletes focus on their own dreams and loves for the sports, competitions can create countless benefits and truly provide opportunities for the potential genius.

Despite the critics of sport competitions for youth, I maintain that sports competitions are great opportunities for young individuals to learn soft skills and attract future mentors to further enhance their abilities. Sports competitions are not only about prizes but a full learning experience, helping children to learn what they could not be taught at school. Most sports allow children to keep fit, enhance their body and mind: Playing in individual sports help youngsters cope with stress, practice reflex and improvise in disadvantaged situations. Team sports encourage participants to work in group and collaborate together to win. These life skills are not only essential to matches on sports courts but also to workplace and relationship. Additionally, competitions provide a space for teenagers to perform their best, play their favorite sports and attract future mentors, who could teach them to become future professsional players. Banning these sports events will disencourage sport participation; therefore, innate talents might be hidden forever. The countless benefits and knowledge that young athletes can obtain absolutely may lead them to a brighter future, even if they failed to achieve awards.

In conclusion, while there were certain drawbacks to youth participation in sports competitions, these are not truly rooted from the competitions. The meaningful lessons, life skills and opportunities they may obtain absolutely outweigh advantage. I contend that sport competitions should continue to be organized and established to provide a friendly space for future athlete to learn and be entertained, not for prizes and expectations.