Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need. What are the positive and negative affects of consumerism?

Businesses invest millions of dollars in online ads, print media, and outdoor advertisements. As a result, consumers may be encouraged to purchase products that are not essential. Even though consumerism has several advantages, including stimulating economic growth and encouraging innovation, it also has disadvantages, leading to financial problems and damaging the environment.

On the one hand, there are few benefits of consumer culture. First, it could boost economic growth. When consumers buy more products companies are going to make a large profit. For this reason, more new workplaces and employment opportunities will be created. Secondly, if customers actively start purchasing goods, companies have to compete for them. In conditions of high demand, firms will improve the quality of their products and offer consumers a wider range of choices. For example, competition between smartphone companies has led to the development of phones with better cameras, longer battery and other more advancements.

On the other hand, there are noticeable drawbacks of this tendency as advertisers can make people buy things they do not need. Having bought nonessential items, people spend more money, which leads to financially struggling. Also, by massively manufacturing and buying goods can be a huge pressure for the environment. It is known that producing products results in an increase in waste that causes ecological problems like pollution. Take individuals purchasing new clothes and throwing away old ones as an example, that increases fabric waste and the use of water and other natural resources.

In conclusion, people consuming excessively promotes economic development and improvement of item quality. Nevertheless, it can also make money and environmental problems.