Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need. What are the positive and negative affects of consumerism?

Annually, there are numerous people purchase unintended goods in social media such as magazines and on billboards. These marketing methods create positive effects on consumerism when driving economic growth and efficient living quality, while they also cause overconsumption and waste time for consumers.

One of the main benefits of consumerism is that contributes to economic development. It is static that in the UK market, the rate of consumers who decide to buy goods through the images of these goods in social media, accounts for 30% of all goods bought. Hence, kinds of advertisements boost the innovation of companies, leading to an increase the product of the amount of goods exported to another countries. Additionally, the quality of living is improved through the invention of modern equipment which the public had not been known. For example, washing machine helped many homeworkers when it changed wash hands.

Nevertheless, the downside of marketing goods through magazines and on billboards is excessive consumption. Many young people tend to run the fresh trends in social media about fashion or foods. These circumstances might cause over-consuming about expenditure. On the other hand, surfing Internet in hours for shopping is quite wase time. At the same time, the essence of new goods piqued curious consumers, which made them spend hours to surf.

In conclusion, while consumerism has its benefits in terms of economic growth and innovation, it also has detrimental effects on individuals. It is important for individuals to be mindful of their consumption habits and for companies to consider the long-term impacts of their advertising and production practices.