Competition for university study is becoming increasingly strong Why is this happening? Is this a positive of negative development?

The contemporary era is witnessed a significant growth in competition in enrolling into universities which is a result of exponentially ascending applicants. Generally, this issue has a benefit of driving up academic quality while there is, contrastly, a drawback of putting pressure on the youth.

It is not difficult to recognize that the amount of students enrolling to universities has been regarding a considerable upward trend in last decade. This growth has a close relation with the economy development because parents who have better financial basis can afford their children’s tuitions. Consequently, because selection in universities bases on ascending classification, students need more tremendous achievements to compete their peers. Given statics from Education of Ho Chi Minh City, there are merely 10,000 pre-university students from high school versus 3000 available space in top universities and colleges. Therefore, an extreme competition on the entrance exam each year.

However, this competition has a great contribution on improving the quality of national education. As mentioned above, universities are likely to choose the best options of their lists of enrollers. This means there are more talented students which allows universities to take more hard specific lesson for further academic evolution. In addition, the attraction of oversea students is another key effect of improving academic quality. As a consequence, it helps upgrade country’s workforce and rise Vietnam’s prestige in global education.

Besides, there is stioll a negative impact on enroller who endure the range of pressure from their parents, schools or ego themself. Young people, therefore, are made to over try studying by peers pressure or obssesion of achievements. Afterward, whether they get success or failure, getting into status of depression, anxiety and exhausted is inevitable. Thus, some of governmental projects was introduced to solve the emotional damages appearing on students by making methods such as giving advices. As a result, students not only have a pressure during their examination and preparing time but also remain the damages of feeling in their lives.

In conclusion, the race to a university is become harder and harder due to high quanity of applicants. Whether a advantage of improving workforce or a disadvantage of making pressure, applying for universities has been more competitive than ever.