Computers are becoming an essential part of education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using computer technology in education.

Computers have become a vital tool in educational institutions. Although the phenomenon suffers from a few drawbacks like varied computer literacy levels and academic dishonesty, I believe that it is more beneficial as it provides enormous resources and an effective teaching tool.

One of the major drawbacks of technology in education is varied computer literacy among teachers and learners. Put simply, computers pose an extra challenge to teachers because they have to deal with learners of varying computer literacy levels. Some pupils come into the classroom well versed in computer literacy, yet others enter with no prior knowledge. It is therefore difficult for educators to handle this vast difference. On top of that, not all teachers are technologically sound when it comes to teaching using computers and the internet. Another primary disadvantage is academic dishonesty. Students who intend to plagiarize can simply copy and paste information into their assignments. For example, at least 20%-25% of students got involved in academic dishonesty, according to a recent college survey, due to the ease of cheating when they took tests from home during the Covid-19 pandemic.

On the other hand, the benefits of using computer technology in education are enormous. To begin with, the main advantage is that students get access to video tutorials, e-books, course materials and online collaboration platforms where they can grasp difficult concepts easily and flexibly. For instance, “Padlet” is a collaboration platform where pupils can ask questions, share ideas as well as continue class discussions beyond the classroom. Even though varied computer literacy and academic dishonesty negatively impact learning, I believe that using computers in education is more advantageous. This is because computers prove to be highly effective teaching tools. For example, teachers, with the help of computers, can show videos, images and texts that are interesting and relevant to what they are teaching.

In conclusion, employing computer technology in education poses some challenges but it offers students a large resource for learning and is proved to be an effective teaching tool. It is expected that teachers would use technology to make education more interesting, engaging and intuitive.