Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

Of those issues that have concerned global consumers, misleading ads is one of the most prominent. It is worth mentioning that these days, we are witnessing the encounter with the growing prevalence of commercials from rival companies, whose problems and possible solutions will be discussed below.

One of the main complications associated with the spread of advertisements is the potential for consumer manipulation. To put it another way, if consumers are not adequately informed, they may make impulsive decisions based on misleading advertising claims, leading to financial losses, dissatisfaction, and a weakened trust in brands and the advertising industry. Based on first hand observation, take my country Iran, as an example, where the average consumers are exposed to hundreds of ads daily, ranging from food products to electronics, which can contribute to confusion and poor purchasing decisions. The erosion of consumer privacy, is, meanwhile, another thorny dilemma resulted from the excessive advertising. Advertising techniques, through evoking emotions like desire, fear, or nostalgia, can manipulate consumer behaviour by influencing decisions that may not align with their rational interests or long-term well-being.

In order to solve these problems, governments need to ensure that advertising standards be regulated to protect consumers’ interests. In other words, the more stringent(tough) the regulations are performed, the more consumers can trust the information provided in advertisements. These mandate transparency, accuracy, and fairness in advertising practices, ensuring that consumers receive reliable information and are protected from misleading or manipulative content. As far back as I get through personal experiences, in Iran, I was always bombarded with some questions in my mind like how I can recognize the truth behind the glossy images and promises. Another feasible way to tackle this problem could be that advertisers take sufficient actions to disclose all relevant information upfront by providing detailed descriptions of products or services. That is why transparency plays an important role in preventing many deceptive practices from occurring.

In conclusion, as shown above, the most important challenges of excessive advertising are the potential for consumer deception and the violation on individual privacy rights that are tackled by such solutions as the implementation of strict advertising standards and the requirement for advertisers to openly reveal all relevant details. It is highly recommended that governments take infrastructural steps against this pervasive concern.