Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and traditional methods of food preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option?

It is claimed that convenience foods will be more popular among society and inevitably prevail over traditional foods and traditional food preparation techniques, a statement I strongly disagree with due to several reasons.

Firstly, there are many cuisine across the world, which offer a variety of tastes to individuals. On the other hand, convenience food products only contain certain ingredients, which may cause many people to be dissatisfied with the matter because they would be obliged to consume specific food. Therefore, I firmly believe that even if convenience foods are preferred more in the future, traditional food and cultural cooking methods are irreplaceable. For example, in Turkey, most renowned chain companies cannot persuade customers to buy their processed food products because they are unable to match the taste and quality of Turkish cuisine.

Besides personal preferences, individuals may perceive these kinds of food as detrimental to their health. As it is known, a myriad of chemicals that are unsafe for people’s health are added to these products. Hence, consumers usually try to avoid purchasing them. In my view, this is another reason for why convenience foods will never be able to take the place of traditional ones. For instance, according to a number of interviews, most of society believes that these products are only produced to make people unhealthy and decrease the number of world’s human population. Thus, they do not even consider buying convenience foods when they go to a supermarket.

In conclusion, it is evident that there is a growing tendency to consume convenience foods around the world. However, in my opinion, these types of products cannot replace traditional foods or traditional methods due to being quite harmful for health and providing only particular choices, which may cause numerous individuals to feel a discontent.