Countries should produce the food that their population eat, and import as little as possible. To what extend do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to your answer

It is argued that some countries should produce most of the food that is consumed and at the same time limit its import as much as possible. This essay totally disagrees with that statement. I believe that country should equalize amount of produced and imported food so that they can sustain economy and provide diversity into the food markets, and not close from any import opportunities.

First of all, over emphasising on self-sufficiency could lead to a less diversified economy. Countries might benefit more by specializing in industries where they have a competitive advantage and trading with others. For example, one country can trade coffee due to convenient climate conditions, by making on that huge money, while another country may benefit and cover its expenses by selling fruits which are rare for another country.

Secondly, it might affect cultural and social factors. Importing food can provide access to a wider variety of products that might not be available locally, enriching diets and improving nutrition. Additionaly, it can provide wider variety of products and food and, at the same time, diversified nutrients and market for certain country. For instance, humanity would have never opened for themselves pizza or sushi, if country of origin would be closed and did not import and introduce their local products.

To conclude, countries should not close and trade only on the inner market, but rather try to share and import their produced food as much as possible, as it will greatly help them to sustain their economical stability and at the same time save the ability to offer citizens more various and nutritious diet.