Countries should produce the food that their population eat, and import as little as possible. To what extend do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to your answer

Many individuals are of the opinion that nations should minimize their imports and start producing food domestically. Personally, I firmly oppose this school of thought.

Some may argue that since the cost of manufacturing food can be more reasonable, the curtain on import funding may be economical for countries with limited coffers. Since the means of production are often more affordable, which mainly stems from cheap labor, cost-effective delivery fees, and proactive supply, governments can save a significant amount of money that could be utilized for better purposes. Additionally, the overdependence on international imports has long been a severe problem for many nations, as can be observed in the case of Singapore, whose government has poured thousands of dollars into buying food from other countries. Therefore, the advocates of this initiative believe that a change needs to be enacted.

However, this solution is impractical. Some continents have their own unique natural conditions that are suitable for distinct types of plants and food, so it would be nearly impossible for such nations to produce food themselves. For example, due to the lack of farming areas, in addition to domestic high demand, which is unsuitable for producing foodstuffs, Singapore resorts to importing a large proportion of its food from other countries. Furthermore, despite the emergence of various technological breakthroughs, especially in agriculture, the application of such innovations in manufacturing food domestically would be extremely exorbitant. Thus, if governments force themselves to produce foodstuffs for the sake of saving financial resources, it could be counterproductive.

In conclusion, I believe that importing as little as possible and manufacturing food domestically is not a suitable plan. This is because not every nation is gifted with suitable environments for farming, and blindly implementing such a solution can cost nations significantly.