Countries should produce the food that their population eat, and import as little as possible. To what extend do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to your answer

Some people hold the believe that the government should guarantee food production for the citizens, and limit their importing food. In my opinion, I think that it is crucial to satisfy citizen’s food demands, but importing other foods from many countries in the world would diversify their food.

Granted, maintaining food security is the most important mission that the government should launch successfully. Indeed, nowadays, there are alot of conflicts happening, which are started from poverty and starvation. Take Somali, an underdeveloped country in Africa as a good example. Because the government can not sustain their food supply, leading to the lack of food and fresh water, many Somali farmers left their paddle field to become pirates. As a result, many cargo ships were attacked by such pirates, leading to many economic problems. Therefore, government play an important role in maintaining food security, which is considered as the most important element contributed to the prosperity of a country

However, a country should also import other foods helped enhance food diversity. Thus, there are many types of foods that can only be produced in a specific area because of certain reasons such as weather, history or local ability. Take Vietnam, a developing country in Southeast Asia as a good example. Vietnamese are not only proud of the second place on the most importing rice ranking, but they also have a diverse food culture and cuisine. But the Vietnamese government always pays yearly for importing food from other countries such as grape wine from France, kimchi from Korea, which would make Vietnamese cuisine more diverse. As a result, many countries have to import such food do not available in their territory

In conclusion. It is crucial for a country to maintain their food security which seems to be important with the progression of a country. However, they would also need to buy other foods from other countries