Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Several nations in the world hold the idea that more economic accomplishments can be attained through increasing total working hours, nevertheless this may put them at social risk and I firmly agree.

On the one hand, it is true that the amount of time that companies spend on coping with the increasing workload is on the rise and this is an inevitable trend. When one country’s economy grows, domestic businesses are likely to deal with many complex demands from the customers in and out their territory, which also means that they have to make greater efforts to serve their clients and be more responsible for their role. Consequently, these firms cannot do anything but extend the average working time in order to meet customers’ needs. When clients’ expectation is satisfied, the credibility of these businesses can be improved, leading to more customers opting to use their services. Thereby, the revenue of domestic companies can be boosted, leading to the overall economic growth.

On the other hand, I contend that prolonging the amount of time staying in the office can exert adverse influences on the personal life of individuals as well as the stability of society as a whole. As employees constantly work overtime without a proper break, this could result in the deterioration in the mental and physical health of these people. This phenomenon not only reduces the labour efficiency but also renders the fact that they can spend less time caring for their own children. The indifference toward their offspring ultimately inflicts damage upon the academic development of children, who are likely to be the next labour force in the future. Therefore, working overtime may spell disaster for the long term progress of the society.

In conclusion, it is inevitable for countries to allocate more time to processing an increasing amount of workload as this could enhance their domestic companies’ reputation, making their business more profitable. However, this undoubtedly has stultifying effects on individuals and society as a whole.