Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In contemporary society, there is a common belief that a long average working period makes a nation more economically successful, but it also tends to cause negative societal repercussions within the country. From my personal perspective, I firmly agree with this view due to some reasons that will be further elaborated in the following essay.

To commence, people should understand that a country’s economy is more robust if people spend more time at work. Extended business hours give more time for people to fulfill their work responsibilities, maximizing productivity and labour output. As a result, the government will be able to cater for public needs to sustain and foster national growth, as well as enhance their country’s image on the world stage by meeting international demands. For instance, Japan, whose people work more than 9 hours a day, a much higher figure compared to other nations, is ranked as one of the most developed countries in the world.

Apart from the pragmatic advantages expressed above, I believe that there are some detrimental societal repercussions regarding prolonged service hours. Chief of these is the deterioration of public health. Lengthy working time often comes with heavy workload and inadequate rests, which contributes to various mental distress such as burnout or stress. Moreover, the sedentary lifestyle, in which a person works in a confined space and barely walks throughout the shift, together with reduced time for exercise physical activities compound this problem, leading to a range of physical health issues, typically obesity. To recapitulate, such social concerns can gradually undermine productivity and work satisfaction, impeding national development in a long term.

In conclusion, I am in complete agreement with the idea that although longer commitment at work is beneficial for a country’s economic development, it also causes social issues, both physical and mental health problems. Therefore, governments should allow people to strike a balance between work and life.