Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? How can its popularity be increased?

Cycles are considered more environmental friendly than any other mode of transport, but the popularity of bicycle has decreased significantly in many nations. There are several reasons for this issue such as it is slowest and difficult way of travel. However, government and companies can take some effective measures to increase its popularity.

The primary reason for this situation is that bicycles are very time-consuming and the hardest way of travel. To explain it in more detail, most individuals have a hectic schedule, and they do not want to waste their time on cycles for traveling. Therefore, they prefer to utilize trouble free vehicles such as cars and bikes that provide them smooth and comfortable journey. To cite an example, several studies have shown that in Canada, around 89% of people do not like to use cycles because it is not very convenient.

Coming to the effective ways to make cycling more popular. The first solution could be to organize cycles races for the public, and government should provide interesting prizes to the participants which will also increase the moral of other people. Furthermore, companies should provide rewards and incentives to the employees who use bicycle for travel to reach the office. It will increase the motivation of other employees. For example, in Japan, most companies give bonuses to workers who use two wheelers (bicycles) instead of private vehicles. It has increased the numbers of cycle users in Japan which is good for their environment.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that cycles are not very popular among human beings as they are not the fastest way of travel. In my view, government and organizations should implement the discussed measures as soon as possible for increasing the usage of cycles.