Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

It is evident that riding a bike is a better way to prevent our environment from being polluted than other kinds of transport; however, its popularity is not widespread in certain areas. This essay will discuss the underlying reasons behind this phenomenon.

Safety concerns and inconvenience are the two main causes contributing to cycling’s failure to achieve popularity. Regarding the former, most people suppose cycling to require physical and mental effort. This overexertion can lead beginners, who are not accustomed to riding bicycles, to health problems such as muscle strains, dehydration,etc. Concerning the latter, when it comes to workers, commuting to work by bike is surely not an ideal choice because it is time-consuming. The speed of bicycles in undoubtedly slow compared to those of cars and motorbikes, which may cause them not to be punctual for appointments in companies, especially in big cities where there is a large amount of traffic congestion.

Various measures, nevertheless, can be implemented by governments and individuals to tackle the issue. The first potential approach the government can put into pratice is launching campaigns. Through such campaigns, individuals can be encouraged not only to opt for cycling as a means to reduce environmental pollution but also to recognize the profound impact of the environment on their well-being. The second possible solution is building a good public transportation infrastructure . By enhancing public transportation services, people are likely to have an inclination integrate cycling into their daily commute.

In conclusion, the two most significant problems linked to the choice of means of transport are safety concerns and inconvenience. However, a collective effort is imperative to alleviate these challenges and promote cycling as a more sustainable means of transportation.