Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road cause some problems. What are the problems? What are the solutions?

In the contemporary epoch, it is true that the traffic issues may arise when bicycle riders and motorists use the same routes. Investigations, however, revealed that many roads are not equipped with separate lanes for bicycles.

To begin with, the problem derives from various factors including both subjective and objective ones. Firstly, when traffic accidents occur, the damage and number of casualties tend to be severe, as cars are much larger in size and often move at high speeds. As a result, these accidents lead to fatal accidents and are far more serious than occurring on roads reserved only for bicycles. Moreover, car drivers could be obstructed by the lower speed of cyclists, when they are trying to move as fast as possible to get to work on time, they may have to slow down and wait for the bicycle riders in front of them.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to prevent road accidents from happening. In the first instance, the government should limit the maximum speed of cars such as fifty kilometres per hour, while travelling on roads shared with other vehicles. By doing this, commuters will control their modes of transport better, which may have less serious consequences when collisions take place. Another measure that the policy makers should take is to build separate lanes for bicycles, the purpose of this is that car drivers can move at their preferred speed without delays. The result of such an action will be enhancing traffic efficiency and reducing move time.

In conclusion, there are various reasons that lead to traffic problems between cyclists and motorists and appropriate aforementioned steps need to be taken to tackle these problems.