Depression is a growing concern in many societies, affecting individuals of all ages. Some believe that strong support systems are essential to address this issue, while others argue that individual responsibility plays a larger role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Depression is a significant concern affecting millions of people worldwide, regardless of age. The debate over whether strong support systems or individual responsibility are more crucial in supporting the person. This essay will explore two approaches to overcoming depression and determine which one is more effective.

On the one hand, nowadays, more and more people come to medical support and get to the psychiatrist’s professional help for managing depression. They believe that their support can provide emotional comfort. Of course, someone with mild depression might benefit from changing lifestyle, but people with clinical symptoms require a therapy and medication. Additionally, specialists can help individuals navigate the challenges that may contribute to depression, such as stress, trauma, and life changes.

On the other hand, some people argue that personal agency and self-care are fundamental in managing depression. The majority of people emphasize the importance of developing such skills, that will help maintaining a healthy lifestyle and overcome the depression. They are convinced that physical activity will reduce stress levels and increase endorphin levels. And a person can control his mental well-being by himself. After all, no one can help a person the way he can help himself. During the treatment an individual should set personal goals and records. It might be really helpful to keep the diary with person’s own achievements.

Overall, I believe that the combination of strong support systems and individual responsibility is the best. Selfcare may be valuable, but might not be enough for severe cases. However, the contribution of family, friends and community is still important for the recovery.

In conclusion, both strong support systems and individual responsibility are essential in overcoming the depression treatment. A balanced approach that combines both elements is likely to be most effective. However, if individuals have symptoms of depression and realize that cannot overcome it without support and need professional help, they have to consult the psychiatrist. As this is a serious problem that cannot be ignored and requires immediate attention, and only a qualified individual can provide the necessary help.