Describe a time when you were on your own. What was easy? What was difficult? Did you have problems? Why?

Being on your own is, in my opinion, a good thing. It makes you realize that there is always something to work on or change. There is no one to mommy you and you have to be an independent person, and I like that.

It was during summer of 2022 when I traveled alone to study in Malta as part of an exchange student program for two weeks. It was easy for me to make friends from different parts of my country and even from other countries like France, so that we could all practice English together.

The main thing I had problem with, was that each country had talked to each other in their native language, which didn’t really encouraged me to practice English. My Slovak friends had different schedules than I did so I had to be more independent. Sharing a room with 2 more strangers was difficult but I managed to adapt.

In the end I learned a lot by being on my own, for example socializing and making friends, learned about a new culture and its traditions.