Despite better access to education, many adults today still cannot read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Although there is a viewpoint that access to education has improved better,a number of adults are still unable to read and write. There are several problems related to the fact that many old people are not able to read and write. This essay will discuss the ways that they are disadvantaged and suggest the main reason.

One major demerit is self-esteem and social contempt. Some adults can not read and write so they usually feel self-esteem as compared to peers or the younger generation. Making them avoid participating in social activities that leads to isolation and lack of confidence. Self-esteem from others can make them lose motivation to learn and improve themselves. Furthermore, because of lack of literacy, they are vulnerable to fraud or exploitation. For instance, from all in contractual sales situations, they can not understand text content so easily lured into signing unfavorable agreements. This not only causes financial loss but also decreases their trust in society.In addition, their job opportunities may be restricted. Some adults are unable to literacy which meet challenges in finding suitable jobs. They can usually only do manual labor jobs that do not require a high level of education. This may limit their ability to develop a career and make them hard to have a stable income. Even though, in the modern working environment, even manual labor jobs increasingly require basic literacy skills. Therefore, numerous people who do not have this availability will have more difficulty in maintaining their jobs and competing with other workers.

The main cause leading to literacy is their difficult family circumstances. In the past, many families did not have enough finances to send their children to school, forcing them to work from a young age to support their families. This makes them not have a chance to study, leading to illiteracy in adulthood. Besides, in some remote areas, education has not fully developed. Schools may have a lack of teachers, poor amenities , or the distance to school is too far, making their study tricky and not appealing.

In conclusion, despite the world developing and the gap in access to education is narrowing, there are still some adults who do not have access to adequate education. This causes great disadvantages for them both individually and socially. The government needs to have specific support measures, including organizing adult literacy programs, improving educational facilities in remote areas, and creating better conditions for everyone to have a study opportunity.