Despite better access to education, many adults today still cannot read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s globalized world, although adults gain wider access to education, many of them are still illiterate. Hence, it has detrimental impacts on their personal and professional growth. This essay aims to elaborate on these disadvantages and suggest possible solutions to rectify this problem.

One of the primary drawbacks of illiteracy is social isolation. As they cannot navigate day-to-day conversations and understand others which are an indispensable part of a society, they may be pressurized to fully integrate into the society. This problem is also compounded by the stigma held by other people, further stifling self-esteem and aggravating isolation and depression. Moreover, the inability to read and write hampers career prospects. As a matter of fact, illiterate individuals have the ability to do demanding and underpaid jobs such as builders and sanitation workers. As a result, illiteracy deprives them of the opportunity to experiment with different corporate cultures, potentially lowering financial security and increasing unemployment.

Although this is considered a pervasive issue which ignites debate among people, it is not insurmountable. Firstly, the governments need to take establishing extra classes into consideration. By organizing classrooms with a customized pace of learning in line with adults’ demanding schedules and learning styles, they can enhance social cohesion and create a more well-educated workforce. Another measure to remedy this problem is to launch campaigns to prevent stigma and raise individuals’ awareness. Thus, these activities can foster a great sense of sympathy, which encourages disadvantaged adults to dismantle hurdles to improve their literacy. For instance, Vietnam has organized a vast array of voluntary projects and campaigns in mountainous areas in order to instill the magnitude of learning in underprivileged adults, propelling them to unlocking their potential.

In conclusion, illiteracy presents challenges to both personal and professional growth as it hinders adults from blending into the whole community and embarking on a successful career. Consequently, it is of paramount importance for the governments to establish more extra classes and raise people’s awareness to mitigate this issue.