Despite better access to education, many adults today still cannot read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, most people have access to education as it has been developed over the decades globally. Nevertheless, a significant number of people cannot read or write due to the inadequate facility of education. In this essay, I will discuss the disadvantages and actions the government should implement to increase literacy.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some people argue that a large percentage of people are unable to read or write. The first reason is that the foremost disadvantage of not being able to read and write is poverty in the families. In fact, Illiteracy restricts access to jobs that require basic reading and writing skills, confining individuals to low-paying. Furthermore, without literacy skills, individuals have difficulty in accessing vital information about healthcare, legal rights, and social services, which can impact their overall well-being and economic stability. Another justification is that individuals do not consider themselves as a part of society. It is true that illiterate individuals may feel marginalized because they cannot engage in many societal activities that require reading and writing, such as participating in community events, voting, or accessing public services. Illiteracy limits access to further education and lifelong learning opportunities, which are crucial for personal development and social integration.

On the other hand, there are variety of efficient keys for governments to solve this problems. The first measure is launching comprehensive education campaigns. Indeed, establishing adult education centers in urban areas can help ensure that education is accessible to all. Moreover, partnering with non-governmental organizations can enhance resources of literacy programs. By doing this, they can also bring innovative approaches to teaching. Another method is that governments should develop and implement educational policies. As the matter of fact, policies should guarantee free primary and secondary education for all children, removing financial barriers such as tuition fees, and providing necessary resources like textbooks and school supplies. Hence, there should be training facilities where people can learn fundamental skills and improve their life.

To sum up, a lack of reading and writing skills can have a negative impact on their future careers.However, I believe that the government can help students improve their academic performance by building more educational facilities and infrastructure.