Despite easier access to education, a significant number of adults do not know how to read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged without these skills? What can governments do you solve the problem?

Improving education accessing, that has made a significant impact on individuals’ illiteracy. However, there is still a remarkable number of adults who do not know how to read and write. This essay will examine the disadvantages of living without these skills and propose some feasible solutions to them.

The implications of illiteracy on an individual’s life can be profound. Chief among these is losing the ability to read and write can deprive them of the chance to access high-paying jobs. They might fail from the starting stage if the job requirements discuss these skills. This leads to the reality that they must work in manual, unskilled, and low-paying occupations, thereby affecting their financial and personal, family life qualities. Concerning the next consequence, if people live as illiterate, it will limit their opportunities to daily life activities. Finding difficulty reading the ingredients outside the canned food, catching the correct bus, and finishing administrative formalities is an inevitable consequence.

Various measures, nevertheless, can be adopted to tackle the situation, which needs both the government’s intervention and citizens. The first possible solution is to impose financial assistance for organising classes for the illiterate. Allocate more resources to implement and design programs to teach adults who want to study and improve their reading and writing skills on both online and offline modules. In Vietnam, several free classes are taught in the evening or night for manual workers, which are operated by the budget from national and local authorities. The second solution is that individuals can take part in awareness-raising campaigns through several little actions. Highlighting the importance of basic literacy skills, and offering encouragement to adults who lack opportunities to access read-and-write education before coming to the aforementioned education program are workable approaches.

In conclusion, the number of citizens at the age of adults who don’t have abilities in reading and writing can give rise to many consequences in their lives and occupational chances. However, steps can be taken to alleviate the situation. I believe the actions from the government in financial support and campaigning awareness-raising from individuals play a pivotal role in this long-term solution.