Despite progress in gender equality, women are still underrepresented in top leadership positions. What are the reasons

In recent days, development in equity, women are still lacking female leaders in top leadership positions. My essay below will analyze both causes and feasible solutions to this problem.

On the one hand, females are still lacking presence in top leadership positions due to various factors. Firstly, people think women need responsibilities for the family, they must take on more family responsibilities than men due to stereotypes. Besides, women are expected to look after children,do household chores, or take care of elderly parents. Therefore, females will have less time and energy to focus on their careers or to compete for demanding leadership roles. Secondly, currently there are still many gender discrimination prejudices in society. For a long time, discrimination has been deeply rooted in society’s perspective. Which leads to many people still associate leadership with masculinity and discourage women from being promoted. As a result, women ultimately lack opportunities for personal development.

On the other hand, there are a number of viable solutions to help tackle this problem. Firstly, women need to promote work-life balance, companies and the government should promote work-life balance. Additionally, companies need flexible working hours, remote work opportunities to help women manage both career and family more effectively. Besides, the community should encourage more women to remain in the leadership pipelines to let them demonstrate their skills and pursue their passions. Secondly, citizens must raise awareness, education at school needs gender sensitivity training in workplaces. Therefore, raise awareness of gender equality, change people’s views on the role of women in society and reduce gender discrimination.

In conclusion, there are main contributors to the problem such as family responsibilities and gender stereotypes and bias still exist. However, there are some solutions that residents should promote work-life balance and campaign to raise awareness.