Differences between countries are becoming less evident recently. People can watch the same movies, buy the same brands, see the same ads. To what extent do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantage?

In recent years, owing to globalization, countries have lost their identity, and people consume the same products and watch the same TV shows. On this topic, demerits outweigh the merits. This essay states that, as a consequence, countries will become the same, and it will have adverse ramifications for local businesses as well.

Becoming identical is the one of downsides of globalization, because it forces people to do the same things all over the world. Every country has its own traditions and mentality, and in the globalizing world all these have become faded. As a result, new generations will not be aware of the customs and specific traditions of their countries. For example, in the last decade, a famous carnival in Rio de Janeiro is not held anymore, because it is considered as outdated and trivial.

On the other hand, being the same globally is a big threat for local companies. Big companies use great marketing strategies, and they influence the consumers to purchase the product which they produce, so people refuse to do shopping from local companies. Furthermore, this is also happening in the cinema field, and individuals mostly watch famous films and TV shows on popular sites, such as Netflix and Disney plus. Additionally, local restaurants are not able to compete with the famous food chains and go bankrupt. For instance, popularly known fast food restaurants, KFC and McDonalds offer higher salaries for employees.

In conclusion, globalization forces countries to become identical, and this cause loss of identification of countries, nevertheless, they lose traditions. Local brands are not that strong to keep consumers against global brands, so in different fields people choose globally- known companies.