Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. Do the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages?

The earth is becoming smaller just like a village. It is suggested that countries are more and more interconnected, gradually erasing differences among them each year. Nowadays, individuals’ ways of lives have shared more cultural similarities. This essay will discuss both strengths and weakness of this trend, and I feel this situation causes more harm than good.

When it comes to advantages, they may bridge the gap between developing and developed countries. Particularly, underdeveloped countries and regions can import goods, fashions and many more, enhancing their domestic physical lives. This could result in resolving resources in shortages. For example, if African countries like Nigeria receiving goods like perfumes, handbags, and other fashionable clothing or even a broad range of popular TV shows, this can benefit local citizens through filling in the gaps of lacking-in items. Furthermore, this trend also can facilitate better business opportunities. There are social media platforms, such as Instagram, Tik Tok and Facebook, providing channels for people to trade internationally. Individuals can simply upload stuff they want to sell to the platforms, followed by the business communication and making deals.

Despite this situation offering advantages, other individuals, including myself, believe that its drawbacks appear more to the surface. To be specific, the diversity of the world will disappear, especially in terms of the cultural aspect. Given that countries have things, such as commodities, people’s lifestyles and so forth, in common, there will be no countries with unique identities. In other words, several countries will not possess things like no other if being dominated by the common stuff. Further to this, there are no such things as national treasures. Each country has these as their symbols. Without these like dragons and tigers in China, for example, the world may create the phenomenon just like only one country, which does not make sense.

In conclusion, globalisation is gradually removing barriers of international connections. Given that this makes countries share similar physical items beneficial to business and the economic rich-poor gap, other people, myself included, feel that this trend will put more negative impact on each nation.