Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. Do the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages?

With the current globalization trend, boundaries between countries are becoming more blurred as people around the world consume the same media, fashion trends, daily habits and entertainment. Despite some potential drawbacks of this development, I firmly believe that its benefits surpass its downsides.

Granted, one might argue that the widespread exposure to global trends may lead individuals to the loss of their national identity. This is because if people consistently follow the global media outlets, they will be ignorant of their local traditions and changes. In particular, the rising trend of Korean entertainment industries has significant influence on many people in Vietnam, especially the young adults in which they begin to adapt to the Korean lifestyle and habits, but in extreme cases, making them degrade their own cultural identities and chase after foreign cultures. As a result, this can negatively impact the existence of the local culture as people start to forget to pay attention to it.

There are various reasons why this change is advantageous not only for each individual but also for the whole society. Firstly, by having the opportunity to catch up with the global latest news and educational resources, people can gain deeper insights into diverse cultures and perspectives, allowing them to enhance personal growth and widen their horizons. Undoubtedly, these generations can equip themselves with well-rounded knowledge in order to contribute to their country’s development. Furthermore, more people are watching the same media and social flatforms, which can be an advantage for people to promote their own unique culture. By posting more videos and series of national specialities on these media sites, it can lead to an increase in the number of tourists visiting that country to explore the cultures.

In conclusion, while there are some disadvantages of this globalization in the preservation of national identity, I contend that sharing similar cultures around the world can bring more merits and outweigh detriments. By embracing these global influences while cherishing local traditions, individuals can better navigate an interconnected world and there is likely more foreign tourism travel to the country with a widely promoted culture.