Directors and managers of organisations are often older people. Some people say that it is better for younger people to be leaders. To what extent do you agree?

There is a continuous debate surrounding the fact that leadership positions should be held by older individuals, while some argue that younger people would be better for those positions. Even though senior experienced directors can bring valuable qualities to the company, I mostly agree that youngsters can be much better supervisors.

First of all, younger leaders would be wonderful in terms of fresh and different perspectives, which are extremely important nowadays. For example, young people are known for innovating and adopting new ideas, which can greatly benefit the company in terms of profit, organization, and growth. Additionally, they are very close to modern trends, which means they are really up-to-date and thus lead to quality marketing and an increase in the companies’ popularity. Furthermore, having the ability to work with technology and take risks are huge advantages for the youth, especially if the organization is a tech company. For example, there are hundreds of successful entrepreneurs out there who are great with technology; one of them is the creator of ChatGPT, Sam Altman.

However, older people still play a crucial role as managers due to their long-term experiences and the maturity that they have. One of the most important reasons is their exceptional networking, thanks to their decades worth of experience, essentially helping the company in finding funds and contracts when needed. In addition to that is their handling of hard situations and their decision-making. Not to mention the fact that they are really mature, which can really help the organization go through a company crisis if there was one.

In conclusion, a mix of both would be ideal for a company. That said, older people with experiences can benefit a corporation in terms of stability, younger ones are more suited for today’s work.