Directors of large organizations earn much higher salaries than ordinary employees do. Some people believe it is necessary, but others think that it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

It is a fact that bosses and top executives earn a substantially larger salary than other employees. They are also rewarded with better pay rises and bonuses. It can be argued that they deserve this money due to the fact that their role is considered to be more difficult yet this may not always be the case. ieltsxpress

There is strong evidence to support the assertion that a huge salary attracts talented individuals. The level of income offered creates healthy competition and encourages possible management employees to try to reach their full potential. It also ensures that only the most qualified people apply for certain positions. Clearly, the effort and intelligence needed to obtain the appropriate qualifications should be reflected in a person’s wages. In a similar manner, however, consistent good work must be recognised irrespective of an employee’s position with financial incentives such as bonuses.

Conversely, a large salary or bonus does not necessarily mean that a manager or director is worthy of it. There are many examples in which an individual holds a high position due only to family connections. In the global market, such examples of nepotism do not help to further a company’s success. More importantly, this could cause dissatisfaction amongst staff and reduce productivity in general. In order to ensure fairness and a more equal form of encouragement, a maximum wage should be established. This would stop extravagant and unwarranted salaries and pay rises being paid to managers and directors who have not ‘earned’ it. It also supports the idea that a large company does not succeed only because of its management. All employees within a big corporation have an important role and this should be rewarded equally.

To summarise, money is a powerful motivator. In order to use this tool properly, limits must be imposed on large companies to ensure that all staff members feel their work is rewarded appropriately. This would ultimately lead to an environment in which all talent is met with the same response.