Directors of large organizations earn much higher salaries than ordinary employees do. Some people believe it is necessary, but others think that it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

Income gaps between the senior and junior staff is a growing concern in many large organizations all over the world. While some people support the idea that managers should be paid significantly more than other workers, others are against this notion. In my opinion, even though there are certain reasons why lower – level employees in the same company might receive equal salaries, I agree with the viewpoint that executives should be more well paid than regular staffs.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people claim that this trend is not fair for ordinary staff. The main rational reason is that working in any position can be stressful. To be more specific, employees should be required to work for the same amount of time, typically 8 hours per day, so it seems reasonable for every individual to be paid fairly. Another argument is that junior staffs often struggle to live on their low salaries, facing with rising prices for goods and properties. Therefore, in a long period, normal workers would potentially reduce their motivation at work and negatively effect on their performance, which have an impact on the productivity of both workers and the company.

On the other hand, I concur that high salaries for directors are justified because of their higher responsibility and rich in experience. Firstly, directors are often in charge of making vital decisions that influencing direct on the company’s profit and do other tasks such as setting business ‘vision, staff management. To illustrate, they are also idea generators for a new product to attracting many customers. If that idea was fail, they would be the first person to take that blame. Secondly, directors possess years of experience and professional knowledge that contribute to the organization’s success. As a result it is reasonable to provide them with a competitive salary to ensure their commitment to the company.

In conclusion, although some people think that it is not fair that directors get paid a lot more than regular employees, I personally believe that high salaries for directors are equal based on their responsibility and experience.