Discipline is an ever-increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers, while others think that this is the role of parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In today’s schools, discipline has become a great issue. Some believe teachers must manage students’ behaviors, while others believe that this is a parent’s responsibility. In my opinion, discipline must be taught at home, and reinforced by teachers in school.

On one hand, some people consider a student’s discipline to be the parent’s responsibility. This is because of the connection a child has with their parents; they are much more likely to listen to someone who has been there their whole life rather than someone they have just been introduced to. Furthermore, the faculty to student ratio at schools are very unbalanced. Every class has approximately 20 to 30 students with only 1 teacher. This poses a problem for teachers to connect with and teach each child individually based on their specific behavioral issues. For this reason, I believe parents must discipline their children at home.

On the other hand, some people consider a student’s discipline to be the teacher’s responsibility due to how much time students spend with their teachers. The average student spends about a third of their day at school. With one-third of a child’s day spent sleeping, that leaves a third of their day at home. Often times, the parents have jobs to financially support their families, much like how teachers work to support their families. This leaves parents with very limited time to spend at home, the majority of which is spent cooking and cleaning after their children. For this reason, I believe teachers must reinforce the good mannerisms taught by the parents.

In conclusion, both parents and teachers are responsible for a child’s disciplinary issues. While parents plant the seed for positive mannerisms in a child, teachers must correct and teach students when necessary.