Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty as a form of punishment for heinous crimes.

In nowadays society, authorities implement many policies and measures to reduce crime as educate a bout law or apply punishments on criminals. Death penalty is also the way constabulary choose to reduce crime. In that essay, I will discuss about pros and cons of capital punishment.

Firstly, about the advantages of death penalty. The first is can prevent crimes. Because people know the consequence they have to face, so before they commit a crime they will consider or stop that behavior. The death penalty can create fear and alarm in the community, helping to reduce crime and protect public safety. The second is eliminate criminals’ ability to escape and continue harm other people. Some very violent and hardened criminals such as serial killers must not live among the general population because of their high tendency to continue killing; society needs to isolate those people forever. But imprisonment is not always certain that the criminals can’t escape. Some violent escaped and harm a lot of people. The third is reduce tax. Apply capital punishment on crimes is means reduce the number of violent in prison. Through that, money government have to spend for criminals is reduce too.

The other hand is disadvantages of death penalty. First, using capital punishment can also have shortcoming like kill innocent people. Second, it will make an imperfect family. Because the crime is also a member in a family. Imagine a person sentenced to death is a father and a husband. It will cause deprivation and suffering for the family. The third is the death penalty violates one of the basic and natural rights of every human being, which is the right to life. Every human being has the basic right to live.

In a conclusion, death penalty is a punishment which have both pros and cons. And I believe that if authorities can use it reasonable, they can manage the crime rate.