Do development in technology make crime easier to detect or do they make people more vulnerable to crime? Discuss both sides and give you opinion.

Today’s world witnesses a huge technological changes, which have a vast effect on societies in many aspects of life, one of them is criminology aspect. It is argued that technological improvements ease the detection of crimes, while others find that these changes make nominated groups at higher risk to make crimes. In my opinion, I believe that the development in technology enable us to detect crimes faster and easier than the past decades.

On the one hand, the presence of social media platforms make news spread more fast than in the past, also it’s enable people from all parts of the world to read and hear these news. For instance, if someone killed a child in Jordan, here in Palestine we would be able to read about this or even watch it if a video is published. Moreover, improvements in the equipment used by police for investigations as well as materials and devices used in genetics labs, lessen the amount of time needed for criminal identity and reduce the number of persons who may in doubt as criminals. Which mean that this development helps the governments to achieve safer countries.

On the other hand, some people think that the recent changes in technology field make specific people in community vulnerable to crimes. In other words, the open access to other parts of the world at any time and to all age groups have a negative impact on people morals. For example, adolescent considered as crucial stage of youngest life, because they easily influenced by others, so they may tend to try dangerous things to discover them, which may lead them to make crimes or become a drug dealer or work on drugs selling. Thus, it is very important to use this technology with cautions and under adult observation to reduce this possibles risks.

In conclusion, Without a shallow of doubt, the improvement in technology sector have both positive and negative effect on crime world. But I firmly believe that it has a great impact in making crime detection process easier than in the past.