Do the advantages if social media outweigh the disadvantages ?

Our modern life cannot be imagined without social media and this is particularly true for the younger generation. These platforms have intermingled with our lives in such a way that we cannot go a day without them. Although social media have both pros and cons, the advantages indeed outweigh the drawbacks.

The most significant benefit of social media can be realized when we see how fast and affordable communication have become. In the past people had to spend a fortune to merely send a letter to their loved ones thousands of miles away. Contrastingly, with one click of the mobile phone they can connect with their friends and families today. Affordable and faster internet connection along with social media have mad a revolution in communication which would be unimaginable merely 50 years ago.

Moreover, social media now act as a one stop solution for myriads of purposes. The perks of social media range from business platform to help seeking medium. With little to no investment people can now do small businesses thanks to social media. Furthermore, they work as an entertainment hub for people of all ages and have become the trendiest pastime in modern times. Although ostensibly the significance is not much, when considered the vast cross-section of the society who can reap the benefit of this entertainment platform it is really impactful on people’s mind and behavior.

However, some believe that social media affect both students and working people by keeping them engaged in meaningless browsing and entertainment which eventually eats away their productive hours. This in the long run has the power to ruin their careers and consequently their lives. Another really bad effect if social media is that rumor can spread like bushfire here which can be tumultuous. There are many instances of instigating religious riots and political turmoil just only using social media. Admittedly, these can be really devastating if not properly monitored or censored. However, with proper control over the social media and implementing the Do’s and Don’ts such problems can easily be avoided. These negatives cannot nullify the huge positive impacts of social media.

In conclusion, although there are positive and negative impacts of social platforms, the few drawbacks cannot trump the significance of the big positives.