Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Online learning is the only solution that can be applied to help students study in the time of social distance.

Started in 2019, the global pendamic of COVID-19 has had an enormous affect on how we work, socialize and study. With the numorous laws and regulations keeping people at home (including students and teachers) to prevent the spread of this infectous and likely fatal virus, education as a whole has come to a sudden halt. In times of struggle, people has come to the decision to teach online, not just after-school education class, but official class as well, from primary school to universities, everyone is doing it. Simply because it is the only practical, logical and most importantly, safe solution to this problem, and I undoubtly agree.

On the one hand, online learning is highly praised among parents, students, teachers and even government officials for its usefulness during the time of social distance. It not only provide learners and lecturers a safe method of education, but also brings technologies closer to us and allow us to fully take advantage of it. Teachers can now use applications such as Microsoft PowerPoint to present their lessons, comparing the time to clean the board and write all the informations again to a single mouse click, precious time is saved. Additionally, without direct access to educational facilities like chemistry or physic lab, teachers are forced to discover tools online that can digitally visualize the reaction between two substance or conduct a physic experiment clearly. With every tools at a teacher’s disposal requiring only a mouse click, this allow for better education for all students.

On the other hand, some might object that online education brings more disadvantages than advantages. First of all, having too much screen time can damage our eyes and improper posture can further damage our body, leading to health degradation. Moreover, many students will take advantage of the technology to cheat on tests or to do whatever they wish during class time. This is greatly misleading, parents can monitor and moderate the screentime to find a balance between study time and free time for student to prevent eye damage, proper sitting posture can also be easily taught. With the cheating problem, it is simly a matter of regulation, by cooperating with the parents to remind students to study or watch them during exams or implementing technologies to detect cheating students using camera and screen monitoring. With these solutions, the problems of online studying are easily solved.

It is without a doubt that online studying is the only solution to help student study during the time of social distance. It is far safer than any other solution available at that moment because of its practicality, effectiveness and plays an important role in modernization in our country to provide better education for all students in the nation.