Do you agree that modern technology has given us more leisure time than before?

In this day and ages, the advent of contemporary technology has allowed us to have more free time than in the past. From my point of view, I totally agree with this viewpoint due to the high speed of communication and the convenience of automatic gadgets.

Thanks to the development of technology, people currently can communicate with others faster and easier. With the advent of smartphones, social media platforms, and high-speed internet, staying connected with others has become effortless and instantaneous. For instance, individuals used to waste a lot of time and money on handwriting letters by hand and purchasing stamps. Today, however, with only a smartphone and the internet, people can communicate with each other more easily through video conversations and inboxes. This may lead to time-saving and money-saving. Consequently, people may have more opportunities to engage in leisure activities or pursue hobbies that enrich their lives.

Furthermore, the convenience of automatic gadgets also may give humans more free time. Due to the advent of technology and the need of humans, many automatic gadgets have been invented, which help people complete tasks in a fraction of the time. For example, in the past, people could waste all day cleaning their house with rudimentary objects, like using a swab and washing cloth by hand, but now, people can have more leisure time by using automatic gadgets such as vacuums and washing machines. As a result, people can save time. Hence, individuals now have the luxury of allocating their time toward relaxation and personal development.

In conclusion, the advancements in modern technology may give us greater amounts of leisure time on the ground that people can save time and money by communicating with others more quickly and easily and using automatic gadgets.