Doctors encourage older people to take regular exercise, but there are few of them taking enough physical exercise. What are the causes and what solutions could be taken to solve the problem?

The societal propensity of the elderly people adopting sedentary lifestyle has been raising growing concern for their overall health, as a lack of physical exercise is associated with several underlying health issues. This issue is attributed to several causes, and there are various solutions that could help address this phenomenon.

First of all, injuries discourage elderly people to do regular exercise. Particularly, older people are more likely to suffer from age-related diseases like osteoporosis, which increases the risk of bones-broken or body aches. Moreover, the atmosphere in cities has been increasingly aggravating due to global warming or traffic emissions, thereby elderly people are hesitant to engage in outdoor activities for physical exercises and strengthen their endurance. Constantly exposing themselves to contaminated air can lead to asthma or respiratory problems, exacerbating the already acute health problem of older people. A pertinent example is that governments in certain countries warn older people not to go out during the day for the fear of large volume of carbon dioxide posing a grave threat to their health.

Nevertheless, several feasible approaches can be adopted to mitigate this pressing issue. In other words, community-based organizations should be encouraged to spearhead, which are specifically designed for elderly people. These activities can be instructed by expert to ensure the safety, who are academically able to tailor appropriate exercises for older ones. Additionally, communal activities offer valuable opportunities for elderly people to expand their social networks, staying connected with neighbors at the same ages to release stress and share stories in spare time. Moreover, the government can provide more local initiatives to raise elderly awareness about the far-reaching consequences from a lack of physical exercises, motivating them to take proactive steps to emulate wholesome lifestyle with the perfect incorporation of enough nutritional values and exercises.

In conclusion, the lack of physical activity among the elderly people can be attributed to health limitations and a lack of motivation or awareness about the benefits of regular exercise. With the right support and encouragement, older people can be empowered to lead healthier and more active lifestyles.